Home Club Leagues Events Sponsors Admin
Esquimalt Curling Club


2023/24 Season

Club Board Of Directors

PresidentAl Teasdale  778-977-7136  
Vice PresidentRandy Tonks  250-818-8638  
SecretaryKaren Hoban  250-478-5303  
TreasurerCheryl Eason  250-580-7770  
InformationAl Teasdale  778-977-7136  
Past PresidentTorben Wilson  778-678-5110  
DirectorLen Hanischuk  250-744-0058  
Curl BC RepSteve Peckford  778-977-1674  
WebsiteDoug Muir  250-386-1982  

League Representatives

CFB Base CurlingDave Hickey  250 213 6934  
Doubles CurlingKathy Dann  778-884-5488  
Friday LadiesJanet Bell  250-665-7802  
Golden GirlsLu Neilson  250-889-1833  
Ladies AfternoonDianna McIntosh  250-382-3837  
Ladies EveningBrenda Joynson  778-405-0024  
Monday MensBrad Walsh  250-686-6461  
Rebels MixedBrenda Byrne  250-886-2012  
Senior MensAl Teasdale  778 977-7136  
Senior MixedYvonne Leach  250-388-4410  
Senior Select (Mon)Bob Herbert  778-265-1914  
Senior Select (Wed)Bob Herbert  778-265-1914  
Sportsmens MensKen O'Connor  250-382-0143  
Sunday FundayKaren Hoban  250-478-5303  
Wednesday MensBrad Walsh  250-686-6461  
White Ensign MixedTravis Shaw  250-882-5388  
Youth LeagueRachelle Perry  250-920-0921  

Club Bonspiel & Event Contacts

Club Open HouseAl Teasdale  778-977-7136  
Petersen 55+ OpenRobert Herbert  778-265-1914  
Optimist Junior Curling ClassicMurray Walker  778-533-4774  
Driftwood Brewery Men's BonspielBrad Walsh  250-686-6461  
Ladies BonspielBrenda Joynson  250-812-0393  
Masters BonspielAl Teasdale  778-977-7136  
Golden Girls BonspielDenise Forsberg  250-718-3850  
White Ensign Mixed BonspielTravis Shaw  250-882-5388  
46th Annual LogspielClay Snelling  250-475-2356  
Country Grocer Senior MensRobert Herbert  778-265-1914  

Ice Maintenance

Senior Ice Technician Al Sutherland   250-474-0950  


Minutes August 29, 2023
Minutes October 25, 2023



Past Presidents

2020-2022 Torben Wilson  
2018-2020 Samantha Sherman  
2015-2018 Ken Whitehead  
2014-2015 Mike Pedneault  
2011-2014 Lei Davies  
2010-2011 Doug Leask  
2008-2010 Ed Gerhardt  
2005-2008 Dave Davies  
2003-2005 Bob McKie  
2001-2003 Denis Boudreau  
2000-2001 Bill Big Canoe  
1998-2000 Keith James  
1996-1998 George Hill  
1994-1996 Cheryl Noble  
1992-1994 Bill Staford  
1990-1992 Zel Moore  
1989-1990 Stew Thompson  
1988-1989 Murray Nesbitt  
1987-1988 Don Reidie  
1985-1987 Fred Zacek  
1984-1985 Tom Moore  
1983-1984 Chuck Kennedy  
1982-1983 Pat Kennedy  
1981-1982 John Sigalet  
1980-1981 Jack Klassen  
1979-1980 Mike O'Brien  

Curler of the Year 2010-2011
Pat Kennedy Memorial

Fred Zacek & Whitey Wakelyn

Fred Zacek

Fred started curling in Westlock Alberta at the age of 14. After moving to Victoria some 20 years later, he continued his love of curling at the Playland Curling Club. As well as league curling he was also very active in league, club and bonspiel committees. He was a key organizer of the VI/90 Curling Classic cash spiels in 79, 80 and 81, which drew Brier level competitors from western Canada.

He moved to the Esquimalt Curling Club in 1984, where he has been a member for 27 years. Fred has curled in several men's and mixed leagues and participated in various positions on league executives, most notably the Men's league and Sunday Nooners family league. He has also served as President of the Esquimalt Curling Club for two years and on the executive committee for several years, working on Turkey Shoots, New Year's Eve dances and other club functions and fundraisers.

An avid bonspieler, Fred has participated in numerous bonspiels throughout Victoria and Vancouver Island. He was a member of the organizing committee for the very successful Payless Mixed Bonspiel, which ran for 16 years at the Esquimalt Curling Club. They also ran several shortie cash spiels over the years.

Continuing his volunteer participation to a citywide level, Fred served as the Security chairman on the 1984 Victoria Labatt Brier and 1987 Uniroyal World Junior Men's. He also worked on the steering committees for the Labatt Tankard BC Men's Championships held in Esquimalt in 1986 and in 1992. Fred volunteered on the Souvenir and Uniforms committee at the1991 Canadian Senior's Championships. He was the chairman of Security, Tickets and Souvenirs at the 1998 Safeway Select Men's Provincials held in Esquimalt. Most recently, he worked on security at the 2005 Ford World Men's and VIP transportation at the 2009 Scotties Tournament of Hearts.

Fred continues to curl in the Esquimalt Sportsman League, where he displays his participation and enjoyment in all aspects of the sport.

Whitey Wakelyn

Whitey began curling at Playland Curling Club in 1968 in the Sportsmen's League on Saturday mornings. He worked his way through lead, second, third and skip. Around the same time Whitey joined the Plumbers, Saanich League, which also played at Playland on Tuesday nights.

When Playland closed he moved to Esquimalt and continued to play in the Sportsmen's League. At that time he started selling Beer Draw tickets with Sid Loughead and is now helping Fred Zacek with the same sales.

When Whitey retired in 1995 he joined the Esquimalt Masters League on Tuesdays and Fridays.

Around 2004 Whitey developed knee problems and went to a broomstick to throw the rock. He is still doing that now.

In 2006 he started to sell "Throw for Dough" tickets which helped in the purchasing of coffee and cookies to have as a social after curling. He is still doing that today.

Whitey has been a curler for over 43 years and this is his first winter not being able to participate as he is waiting for a hip replacement. Hopefully Whitey will be back on the ice next winter!


Past Recipients

2022-2023Karen Hoban
2021-2022Dave & Lei Davies
2019-2020Bob McKie
2018-2019Darrell Deane
2017-2018Rachelle Perry
2016-2017Al Teasdale
2015-2016Bruce Joanisse
2014-2015Ken Whitehead
2012-2013Keith McIntosh
2011-2012Flo Sullivan
2010-2011Fred Zacek & Whitey Wakelyn
2009-2010Doug Leask
2008-2009Ron Pinfold
2007-2008Toni Tomlinson
2006-2007Roy Johnson
2005-2006Lei Davies
2004-2005Doug Muir
2003-2004Yvonne Leach
2002-2003Dave Davies
2001-2002Faye Johnson
2000-2001Keith James
1999-2000Ken Moore
1998-1999Barry Brown
1997-1998Doug Brietzke
1996-1997Cheryl Noble
1995-1996Edie Hilton
1994-1995Zel Moore
1993-1994Sharon & Dave Hatter
1992-1993Ken O'Connor
1991-1992Tom Levasseur

Nominate the Curler of the Year

Pat Kennedy Memorial

Do you know someone who has contributed to the Esquimalt Curling Club and that they should be recognized? Here is your chance to nominate that person to attain the ''Curler of the Year'' award.

This award is presented at the Club Championship Luncheon to the curler who best displays the following characteristics:

  1. This curler should be a regular member and curler in the Esquimalt Curling Club.
  2. This curler has shown an interest in standing for office or holds office at this time.
  3. This curler regularly attends curling functions of his/her league and the league games.
  4. This curler makes an extra effort to see that the league is or becomes more successful.
  5. This curler's attitude towards fellow curlers is correct and shows good sportsmanship.
  6. This curler abides by the code of curling ethics.
  7. This curler actively promotes curling and contributes to the betterment of the Curling Club.

This award will be presented by the Esquimalt Curling Club to the Esquimalt curler for his/her efforts during the current season.

All nominations must be received at least 30 days prior to the Club Championships for consideration. Please give nominations to a member of the Esquimalt Curling Club Board Of Directors .

Only you can give back to those that volunteer to make our club as successful as it is. Please take the time to nominate someone for this time-honoured award.

Please Support Our Sponsors

Mortgage DepotDriftwood BreweryPro-tech Exterior ProductsDarlen Ventures